by subzar

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $7 USD  or more


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Includes unlimited streaming of subzar via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 3 days

      $16 USD or more 


  • Full Digital Discography

    Get all 61 Ricco Label releases available on Bandcamp and save 30%.

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality downloads of loop, Soraninaru, unknown error, missing, nothing there, Run Away, No Tears (feat. Pall Jenkins), Love Songs for Insensitive People, and 53 more. , and , .

    Purchasable with gift card

      $208.94 USD or more (30% OFF)




This is the front line of modern-classical music!!

A grandiose conceptual world reminiscent of Sigur Rós and Ólafur Arnalds, a tense atmosphere like Steve Reich, and a destructive power like Godspeed You! Black Emperor. We are so proud to announce that we will release the first album of subzar, a UK-based acoustic post-rock quartet, packed with talent.

Goldmund, Max Richter, Ólafur Arnalds, Jóhann Jóhannsson, Nils Frahm, Sylvain Chauveau... Even if you don't know the names, you must have hear the compositions of some great modern-classical music artists via films and TVs etc. all over the world. And now, a new modern-classical act consisting of a duo of guitarists, a violinist and cellist, subzar has just joined the ranks of the elite.

Whilst bearing similarities with the aforementioned artists, it is their performing technique and unique sound affected by several genres such as classical music, post-rock and jazz, that sets them apart offering something unique to the listener.

A Celtic like feeling in the first tune 'the drum of ceaseless echo', a forceful performance and tense atmosphere in the fourth tune 'last night i thought a thousand plans, but today i go my old way', and ending on the grandeur twenty-two minute masterpiece 'pico', his album includes their newly re-mastered self-released EPs; 'i am not yet here' and 'pico'. So, it is not only their awesome début album but also the best release to date.

In addition, please don't miss the beautiful artworks for CD which includes a 8-page booklet.

For fans of not only post-rock and modern-classical but also artists such as Joe Hisaishi, Michael Nyman, Ryuichi Sakamoto and Massive Attack.


released February 4, 2014

produced by subzar / Ricco Label

all tracks composed by Chris Redfearn, Derek Yau, Gav Sirisena, Nicky Haire

Gav Sirisena : steel-string guitar
Chris Redfearn : nylon-string guitar
Nicky Haire : violin
Derek Yau : cello

Recorded, Mixed and Mastered by Steve Redfearn, Luca Sammuri
Post Mastered by Takahiro Kido, KASHIWA Daisuke

Illustration by Marie Boucomont
Art Direction and Design by Clayton Junior, Takahiro Kido


official website


all rights reserved



Ricco Label Tokyo, Japan

Ricco Label is a Tokyo-based modern-classical/post-rock music label established as individual label of Anoice and members' other projects.

contact / help

Contact Ricco Label

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

If you like subzar, you may also like: